Team Camaro Tech banner

'68 SS/RS 350 - Longtime owner, new member in CO

2K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  convertible68camaro 
#1 ·
Hi - I'm Martin. Currently live in Denver, CO. I am a mechanical engineer and have been a car enthusiast since I was 13.

I recently reacquired my '68 SS/RS from my parent's home in VA. I got the car Halloween night 1992 when I was 18. Paid $6500 for it (even then - what a steal!!!) Found it sitting in an old warehouse where a guy was selling older cars. Spent many days chasing girls, cruising with friends, and just generally having a good time in this car. The stories this car could tell...

I want to thank the forum mods here - this site appears well put together. I'm on other auto forums, this one is a wealth of knowledge. So far I've learned that I have a rather well optioned car.

After reading through this site, I thought this may have been an original L30/M20 car since it had a 12 bolt and multi-leaf springs. I recently discovered this is a 100% SS/RS car from the factory, found the partial VIN stamped into my Muncie trans with an install date of 5/31/68 - firewall tag build date is 05E (last week of May build date). The axle is a BU 3.73 Eaton posi unit, dated 5/13/68. So it appears I have a real SS/RS. Sadly, I may have given the original 350 engine away to replace it with a 400 SBC. I'll never know - the guy I traded the engine to passed away in 2010.

Now I'm trying to figure out if this was a 396 car. It has the big block hood vents, but of course, these could have been added at anytime. But they do look OEM as the chrome is aged and matches the door handles and other bits that haven't been replaced thus far. The 350 cars should have had the '67 hood vents from what I've read on here and camaros.org. Looking forward to meeting people here virtually and maybe IRL at Denver car shows.

Firewall Tag 05E, G2, 712
Ash Gold-Black Vinyl Top SS/RS L48/M20
AH tire code on sticker (helped support my SS suspicions)