wheel base ? - Team Camaro Tech

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 39 (permalink) Old Aug 27th, 08, 05:43 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Chris

wheel base ?

I am fixing to cut out the old backhalf of my tubbed 67 camaro and redo it alot better and nicer,my ? is the wheel base.I measured the camaro wheelbase and it is 107 on the passenger side and 108.5 on the driver side,this is how it was put in by whomever tubbed it the first go around im assuming.I measured my 68 bird and it is 108 1/4 on both sides.What is the correct wheel base for these cars and should I just adjust my marks to be the same before I cut out the old and put the new back in,I have never done one of these before but I have researched it all and a buddy of mine and his dad did one and it doesnt seem like it will be very hard I just need to figure this measurement out or how to fix it then cut it all out so I'm hoping some of you guys with prostreet cars can answer my ?s through this process.There is a noticable difference is the way the tires sit in the wheel wells but this car has also had 80% quarters put on at one time which will be changed after the new back half is installed.Thanks for any info you can give.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 (permalink) Old Aug 27th, 08, 07:44 PM
Senior Tech
Royce

Re: wheel base ?

108" is what the wheelbase "should be". Now before you cut out the old stuff make sure it's just not adjusted incorrectly. 4 links and ladder bars can be adjusted and maybe the car wouldn't leave straigh so they compensated.

In either case it is a lot of work to back half a car but, since your car is already cut up that will make it easier.

The first thing you need to figure out is if the rear end is off or is it the front. Don't assume anything. If you can find a reference point on the frame to measure from that would be a good place to "verify" what is off.