Team Camaro Tech banner

Hello 69 LS swap just starting

6K views 36 replies 9 participants last post by  jet_airman 
#1 ·
I've got a lot of questions. I found a lot of answers here but I'll need some help along the way.

69 Camaro 307/TH350 pulled out. Done

Going with LS3 beefed up 4L65/70e or 4L80e

1) Does the 4L80e fit? Whos done it and what are the problems getting it in. I don't want to cut the tunnel.

2) What flexplate do I use for each? Are they different? Is the 4L80e flexplate dished and require a spacer/adapter?

More questions to come, THX in advance.
I posted another thread yesterday but cant find it or it never went up. Im new at this
Also whas the trick to get pics to upload. ugh

#3 ·
You can’t post pics without a paid membership or by using a third party hosting site.

4L80E usually requires floor mods. Extent is highly dependent on the engine mounts you use.

Don

#6 ·
Im going with the lsx conversion plates. They're adjustable to 4 different positions (forward) and the BRP SureFit transmission mount. its adjustable also. Do you think the 4L80e will fit? What problems or clearance problems will I run into? If its a pain I can just as easily go with a 4L65/70e
thanks

#7 ·
Hello neighbor, I live in Tomball off of Louetta Road.

In most cases the 4L80 will require you to cut the floor pan hump. Otherwise your driveline angles will be off.

Considering that you are replacing the engine with a newer style LS and electronic transmission this is not a big deal. There are kits that will cover the hole you will make in your floor pan to make the job easier.

This one is for a manual transmission but it will give you an idea on how to attack the problem.
https://www.speedtechperformance.com/index.cfm/page/ptype=product/product_id=264/category_id=188/mode=prod/prd264.htm

#8 ·
Have you done the LS swap? I think I'm just going to go with the beefed up 4L60/70e
I still haven't ordered the engine or transmission