Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1967 Camaro
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been searching through the threads, it seems like this is a pain point for quite a few people.
I just bought this car a couple days ago and one of the main things I don't like and want to change asap is the shifter location.
For me it's to short and to far forward, I need to lean forward in order to shift to first or third.
Forgive me if these are dumb questions, I'm a noob when it comes to Camaros still.

What I do know:
Originally an AT car. - Now Saginaw 4sp.
Originally a 6cyl car - Now SBC 350.
It appears the PO use the hot wrench to make final adjustments on the shifter I have.

The shifter location in the console is good, shifter stick and final location of the shift handle is not.
I looked to see if I could get to the numbers on the stick itself, I couldn't see any. I may have to remove it from the car in order to find the numbers?

If I do get a longer more swept back stick, how does the leather boot work? I haven't seen any others with the spring mechanism that holds the top of the boot up.

However, I was hoping someone on here might already know which one I should order to have the shifter about 2" taller and 2" further back.

Car Vehicle Motor vehicle Steering part Hood
Vehicle Car Motor vehicle Steering part Steering wheel
Vehicle Motor vehicle Automotive tire Car Gear shift
Automotive lighting Automotive tire Motor vehicle Bumper Automotive design
Motor vehicle Vehicle Automotive lighting Wheel Train
Fixture Automotive lighting Motor vehicle Automotive exterior Bumper
Automotive tire Bumper Automotive exterior Road surface Automotive lighting
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Bumper Gas Automotive exterior

Attachments

·
Registered
345 Posts
I've been searching through the threads, it seems like this is a pain point for quite a few people.