Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a '69 Camaro recently and I'm unsure the last time it had the engine coolant replaced. I popped the radiator cap and it looked a little low and the fluid didn't look great (seemed full of sentiment and old looking). I tested it with a 'test strip' and it was within range.

Please excuse my ignorance but I'm a pretty inexperienced mechanic (learning as I go) so I'm looking for some advice on how I should proceed. I feel like flushing the system and replacing the fluid is something I can handle but could one of you Jedi master pro mechanics explain how it's done. I'm sure a job like this is trivial to some but I genuinely want to learn and from what I'm reading online there are some nuances that can go along with it. I'm probably overthinking it but I don't want to mess up the heater core or something worse! This is a stock 350 car (with the stock radiator) without an overflow container.

Thank you in advance!

·
Premium Member
3,187 Posts
Remove the cap and open the pet **** to drain it. Technically you should take the old stuff to recycle. Keep it away from dogs because it is toxic. You can use a radiator flush if you want and flush with a hose, refill with 50/50 antifreeze/water and go. Don't forget to close the petcock after draining.

·
Super Moderator
32,351 Posts
Some more tips:
remove/replace with petcocks, the drain pligs just above the oil pan rail, 9/16 inch hex, I think.
Use an impact socket on removing them as GM hired a gorilla in tightening them.
Replace, your choice, with petcock for later draining.
If you replace thermostat, drill a couple 1/8 inch diameter holes in the flange allowing escaping of air when filling.
By design, and no EPA then, GM did not include an expansion tank. As the coolant heated up, coolant was forced out and if leak free, maintained a level about 1-1/2 to two inches below the filler cap.