Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I've been researching investing in a 1969 Z28 for the past two years. I am relatively confident in what they are worth and what I feel comfortable paying for one. I am ready to purchase one this year, next summer latest. Having said all that...I recently found one I am interested in and am considering making an offer. My preference is numbers matching, engine, transmission, and rear end. However, my struggle is this particular one does not have a #'s matching transmission. But, I'm considering looking at it because its a complete restoration LAST YEAR!! So, the question is, exactly how much should it affect the price in the future. Can anyone put an approximate price or value on something like that? My struggle is the car is brand new and has literally everything I want option wise, color, X33, center console, ...so exactly how hung up should I be on the transmission??? Any thoughts,, input, or opinions welcome and appreciated! Sorry so long.

Thanks in advance,

Joe B

·
Premium Member
1967 Camaro SS 350
487 Posts
I can not venture a guess on value since you did not give enough info or pics but if it check all those boxes for you besides the trans. I would pull the trigger. I would post up pics of all the stampings to verify it is real and all the correct numbers.

·
20,362 Posts
IF it's the real deal, and just the trans is wrong, all you need to locate would be a date coded "replacement" I guess.
They do seem to hold value and increase almost yearly. Even "tributes" carry a decent price with the right parts.

Your $$$$$ and your gamble... just like money in the stock market.

·
15,091 Posts
If you like it and comfortable with the price buy it.

My only advice is do not buy it as an investment counting on it going up.