Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,358 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I plan on taking the DZ out of my Z and install a 383 stroker motor and want to keep the stock appearence. The DZ would be put in the corner and stored.

1) Would a set of worked over 2.02 heads work good on a 383?
2) Would the DZ intake work good on the 383?
3) What about motor mounts?
4) Radiator-Cooling?
5) M20 still a good trans w/4:11 gearing?

·
Premium Member
22,122 Posts
yes, but some good 190-200 cc aftermarket heads would be better, you could always paint them orange
yes
same mounts
cooling should not be a problem, use everything off the DZ if it's in good shape it will cool.
budget question mostly. If you don't want to change the gear, think about a tko600, or go to a 3.23-3.55 gear, or build the crap outa the 383 so it revs like the 302 did!

·
Premium Member
5,787 Posts
I am no expert but the 383 stroker is more of a torq engine, not as high as a revver as the 302, so the 383 and the 4.11 gears may be a mis-match. Maybe you should de-stroke a 350 CI and build it to rev. Then you could run the Z car like it wants to run. I sure there are others who will disagree.

·
Banned
21,341 Posts
You will be fine w/ a complete DZ topend on your 383!!

Just cam it smaller for MAX T production at say 35 to 4,000 rpm and GO!!

pdq67

PS., and no more than a good bowl-blend, dingle-berry casting flash removal will help a bunch..

·
Registered
8,305 Posts
Maybe you should de-stroke a 350 CI and build it to rev.
isn't that essentially what a 302 is?
just build the 383, put it in, and have fun with it. the gears are only too deep if you think they are too deep.

·
Premium Member
5,787 Posts
isn't that essentially what a 302 is?QUOTE]
That was kind of my point; build a spinner not a torquer and respect the originality of the car. His plan is to build an engine to drive and store the original 302.

·
Premium Member
8,358 Posts
Discussion Starter #7