Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Questions for the engine experts. Below is what I am told are the specs on the engine in my 68 camaro. Seems like low output to me for a 383, but I'm just learning.

383 / 347 max hp / 415 max torque
flat top pistons / 10.5:1 compression
elgin cam #232H / 220 duration @ 50 / 270 overall / 108 centerline
world sportsman 2 heads / 220 cc runner / 64 cc chamber
edelbrock performer rpm intake
edelbrock 600 carb

Do the above specs seem correct? I would like to get 400 to 450 hp. Can I get more horsepower by changing the top end? Do I need to change the cam? Total rebuild? The car has a M20 4sp with 355 gears.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks all.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You're correct the heads are 200 cc. Typo on my part.

Any suggestions? I figure the carb was on the small side.

·
Premium Member
9,357 Posts
Carb is way to small!! Maybe at a least 750???.. needs a bigger cam too!.how about 274h??

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You're correct the heads are 200 cc. Typo on my part.

Any suggestions? I figure the carb was on the small side.

·
Registered
138 Posts
A 650-750 is great on a 383 untill you start seeing 7000-
Those heads are not the greatest but they don't just plain suck either-with some porting they can really perk up
I think a bit bigger cam and a carb swap is the best things to look at
The E rpm is a great manifold
In my daily driver 383 I run a 282/288 hyd roller-it idles good and would run power brakes as long as your tune up is right
If it were my car a modern cam in the 276-lower 280's range and a 650-750 carb(holley or demon double pumper for me)
Thats less than a grand and 400 hp is easy-with some stronger heads or porting your own 450+hp and even more tq with out seeing 6000 rpm

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7