Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7,795 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am assuming that your question is about "Why would you want 6" rods in a 327 ?"

First, I must say I am not an engineer, so I'm not schooled on all the science of it.

Here is a quote I found:

There are many articles on the web, to explain the reasons. Do a google search with the words : 6" rod vs 5.7" rod

This picture shows what compression height is.

Here is a chart from Ross pistons, showing the differences with different rods etc.

Notice that when you go from a 5.7" Rod to a 6" Rod, your Compression height (CH) also changes by that .300" .

So, why a longer rod ? My understanding is that the angle of the rod to the crankshaft is different, so the actual turning of the crankshaft is easier there by making more H.P.

Correct me here guys ! Let's hear your comments...

·
Premium Member
22,122 Posts
I "think" the biggest difference if the amount of time (in degrees of crankshaft rotation) that the piston "hangs around" top dead center. This lets the fire get moving without lighting it so soon, you can run less advance.

There are also differences in "leverage" on the crank, and piston speed.

here is a recommended ratio of rod length to stroke, though I can't remember what exactly it is, 1.7:1 or so??

·
Premium Member
72 Posts
Yes, like Jim said the number of degrees of rotation that the piston "hangs around" TDC is longer with longer rods. But for a street motor it probably would only be a few HP difference at peak HP RPM.

The way I like to think of it is: The piston is near TDC and the fuel/air charge is ignited and burns. Then the hot, high-pressure cloud of combustion gas is "pressing hard" against the piston. The longer the piston can stay near TDC the longer the gas can "press hard".

I've seen some near identical engine builds with long and normal 5.7 rods, and they were within a few HP.

Sorry for the rambling.

·
Premium Member
6,360 Posts