Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, I am taking oveer a 68 convertible project car. It has had all rust removed or has had new metal put in, and has been painted(although i will repaint). It has had the 327 overhauled, and front suspension overhauled. I am wondering where to start on this project. It is my first project car and I would like to do it right. Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
445 Posts
Congratz
I'm sure lots will be willing to help you. We could use more information. Such as your long term goals/desires vs. the current state of the car.

I find it much easier to give advice to others then myself for some reason. Maybe I just feel better knowing that someone is working on thier car since i can't seem to find time for mine.

Anyhow, tells us you overall project goals so we can help you a bit more.

·
Registered
3,064 Posts
Welcome to Team Camaro Tim. Good luck on your 68 Vert project car. It sounds like a good one. Post some before and after pictures when you can. :waving:

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I would like to keep it pretty close to factory. I am converting the brakes to four wheel disc, and I would like to swap the shifter from column to floor shifter. It has the original motor and trans. I don't think I will make any changes to them. It is a car that I would love to restore and drive.

Thanks for the feedback

·
Registered
926 Posts
Good luck on your project! The factory assembly manual as well as a book by Jason Scott: Camaro Restoration Guide 1967-1969 should help immensley, especially in those areas that you want to keep origional.

·
Registered
6,106 Posts