Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1969 302DZ clone. It has a partial vin 19N598017 VO104DZ stamp. I thought I was buying a real 302 until you guys picked up on the casting date number of K273. Obviously it is a re-stamp. But I'm over that. It is a 4 bolt main with casting number 3970010. It has all the right stuff, 1178 crank, 3927186 heads, 1969 winter intake and a completely rebuilt Holly 3923289 DZ List 4053 704 carb. You can see the bottom of the pistons have been drilled for balancing. I put in a new oil pump, fuel pump and line, windage tray (was missing), and timing chain. I made the decision not to pull the pistons after checking the bearing clearance was okay. It was my bad not to pull the cam to check that while I had it apart. Hey, I'm a rookie, don't beat me up please. It's almost together. Just waiting on the new valve covers that are backordered. I'm at the point now to configure the vacuum lines. Does any one have an original stock 302 DZ that you could send some pics to show the PVC and vacuum lines? I do not have smog control. Thank you all in advance for any help you can provide.

·
Premium Member
3,646 Posts
Not many lines. The PVC comes from the carb base plate on the passenger side of the carb and goes between the front of the carb And water neck , to the front of the driver's side valve cover. The original hose had a molded 90 degree bend at the pvc. The booster line went to the single port screwed into the back of the intake. " Between the carb and dist. "
The vacuum advance went to the passenger front metering block, but it will run better off of the front carb plate port.

I have a 750 double pumper on mine, so the pcv is tied into the line going to the brake booster. The booster line has a bracket that goes to the valve cover bolt to hold the line up . With the air cleaner on you can't tell it's not 100%, but looks it.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #3