Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm putting together my 69 Convertible and have a question. Is it better to first install the rear side glass and regulators etc, or would it be better to install the convertible top frame first, then the rear side glass?

Thanks in advance.

·
Super Moderator
32,797 Posts
IMO, glass first. But then, I'm not a professional body man, er, person.

·
Registered
1,546 Posts
Once you get you glass and regulators in, install top. Adjust glass to meet top , basically adjust both to get best fit. Top will have adjustment screws to be parallel to glass tops

Scot

·
11,416 Posts
Kinda like "the chicken or the egg" question. Window in 1st makes a little more sense since ram/springs are to the interior in the space and may cover up access to the window well.

As to adjusting, you really need everything in place (top, door and qtr window and ALL weatherstrip, but NOT top canvas) in order to do the adjustments. It all works together and has to be adjusted all together :)

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes, agree, it will all have to be adjusted once it's all in. Sounds like the rear window parts are to go in first.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
1,852 Posts
Install the glass first with the top down. You need all the room you can get when you drop the glass down the holes into the body. Make sure they actually roll up and down. Align the door glass to the front A pillar. Align the quarter window glass to the door glass.