Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the process of adding the RS hide away head lights to my 69 standard Camaro (just love the look). I bought the conversion kit, but it did not come with any instructions. Being a novice, I have figured out most of the installation process, but wanted to ask for help before I get too far. I am interested in knowing where the vacuum tank mounts and see if anyone has done this type of conversion before. I want to make sure my sequence and drilling of mounting screws for the headlight casings is correct. Does anyone have pictures of how the RS interior vacuum tank and hosing is mounted? Does anyone have advice as to the sequence of installation? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!!

Craig

·
Premium Member
8,375 Posts
No instructions!? I'd be right back to the phone yelling at the vendor. Conversion is a big job.
Did it come with the correct backup lights? To access the correct wires means a 'die-stamp' hole under the bumper. Haven't heard of a way to do this properly so I haven't seen the lights in conversion kits. Here's a look.

·
Retired
16,027 Posts
Craig maybe the pics in my folder here can give you some ideas. Its a major undertaking for sure.
RS folder

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the picture. I haven't thought about the rear lights yet , but that will be next on my list.. Right now, I'm trying to make sure I have the front end installed correctly. I want to make sure I install the vacuum tank in the engine compartment properly and in the correct location. I'm also concerned with the actuators and their installation. Do you happen to have any pictures of how your front end looks with regards to the actuators and vacuum lines? Thanks again... really appreciate the input!!

·
Retired
16,027 Posts
Craig, I went thru my pics and found a bunch that will help you out. Go to my folder again RS stuff