Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
921 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to raise the back of my car 3/8". If I make a shackle 3/8" longer will it really raise the car that much or will it only lift it half that much being that its only "lifting" half the spring length. I have never done this before and I am clueless.

·
13,850 Posts
Approx 1/2. You would need 3/4" lower bolt hole center to center to raise 3/8"

·
Premium Member
5,230 Posts
I want to raise the back of my car 3/8". If I make a shackle 3/8" longer will it really raise the car that much or will it only lift it half that much being that its only "lifting" half the spring length. I have never done this before and I am clueless.
I personally never liked that shackle trick. Years ago you would see many cars with the extended shackles on them. IMHO not the proper way to raise a vehicle. Booster shocks (shocks with springs) raise a car approximately a 1/2 inch. I'm not even sure they still have booster shocks available though. LOL.

·
13,850 Posts
X2. Toss some KYB gas shocks on it. That will raise the rearend.

·
Retired
26,616 Posts
The rear end can't sit any higher than fully extended shocks will allow it and you really don't want to drive over a bump or dip and not have any extension travel. Shock extenders will help in raising the rear and keeping the car drivable if you do install taller shackles...

·
Registered
921 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I changed the rear springs with 2" lowering springs from summit. I was hoping it only dropped it 1.5" but it actually did lower it a full 2". That's why I was looking to get it back up 3/8" or so. Why will KYB gas shocks raise it a bit? Are they ride height adjustable?

·
13,850 Posts