Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone.

I've been into first generation Camaro's for over 15 years, and one thing has always puzzled me. Out of all the shows I've been too, and all the books I've read, I have never seen a photo of the '69 two-tone color scheme (and I'm not talking about a vinyl top, either).

So, is there anyone out their who has seen one, or possibly own one?

Just curious.

Keith
'69 RS/SS 502

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
To my knowledge, what there is of it, there were no two toned 1st gens, other than stripes. I've been painting cars for many years and I have never seen one.

·
Registered
999 Posts
this two tone paint has puzzled me also. i have a book at home that states the paint codes for this, but i also have never seen one. i posted this same question months ago and some people think that the roof might be paint a different color to represent a vinyl top, but from the book i have, i believe differently. i would like to see one.
bruce

·
Registered
285 Posts
I've seen several of them. Most people don't like them, so when they repaint their car it gets painted a single color. My book say 5,909 were built so they are somewhat rare, just not sure how desireable they are.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
70 RS/Z28,

Where is the two-tone color break? I have seen one custom painted two-tone '69 that had the entire top surfaces a different color (hood, roof, and horizontal portion of fenders) and it looked OK. Was this what the factory scheme was like? The car I mention was red and black (top side was black). It was on the cover of Hot Rod a few years ago.

I just recieved another Camaro book for x-mas which mentioned the two-tone paint, which is what prompted me to post this subject.

Keith
'69 RS/SS 502

·
Registered
517 Posts