Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well here it goes. I have officially start to refurbish a 1969 X-55 that I have had for a couple of years now. This will be my first run at a full resto. I have built a jig (from pictures and build instructions off of this sight, thanks for that info). It is a basket case, but a promise to a friend who has since passed away has put me on this path. I will post pictures when I figure out how to. I have 2 1969 RS/SS 396 cars as samples to help. Sorry this is so long but I am new to this and will have alot of questions from all of you guru's.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay figured out how to get pictures up. iI will post the pictures of the things (many) that need to be replaced.

·
Registered
3,665 Posts
Floyd, looks like you've made a great start on another stablemate to that fantastic pair of big blocks :thumbsup:
Can see a bit of rust on the upper dash top, but the car looks solid; or is there rust lurking elsewhere?

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I would not say it is lurking, it has consumed is more accurate. This will test my patients I am sure. It will be long and I hope fun. I will post pictures of all the rust damage, hopefully today.

·
Registered
5,054 Posts
Welcome to the site, Floyd. Looks like you've got some nice cars there.

·
Premium Member
1,312 Posts
Cool project, and what a shop!! :yes: There are tons of great people on this site who will help out with any questions you ask. When I started on mine, I had no idea what it was that I was doing. But, after following a few builds and reading everything I could, I found it wasn't all that bad. You will really appreciate the sense of accomplishment with each step you take towards the final product. Have fun! :beers:

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #9