Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been trying to figure out if this needs to be done or not for my 68 Camaro or not. I have read and re-read the tech writeup and seen Jim's Electrical sticky and am still deciding on what to do. Can I change what I have to get a Voltage Sensing wire or should I get a CS alternator?

I have a Powermaster 17294 Chrome alternator (100 amp) that is currently wired as a 1 wire. This was done awhile ago when motor was changed and the electrical guy that helped said it would be much cleaner... I can make this a 3 wire since there is a black cap over the 2 spades on this alternator per Powermaster. I see several things on going from a SI to a CS but what about a 1 wire back to a 3 wire? I have the GM style connector for the alternator, which wire goes where from the alternator? Does the Red wire from the connector go to the main +12 coming from the battery on the alternator (jumper wire) like in the tech writeup? Or does the white wire do that from the connector? Or am I wrong altogether.

http://www.camaros.net/techref/electrical/dnult_alt/ - I see on the CS conversion the wires coming from the alternator, plus a main power wire. I do not care about the GEN light since i have replaced the factory gauges with Autometer's, so I don't think I need the brown wire at all right?

http://www.camaros.net/techref/ftecref14.html - on this tech writeup from Wes, I see the 4 wires from the regualtor and 2 are capped and 2 are connnected together, but in other threads I have read the 2 inside wires are connected and the 2 outside wires are connected so which is it?

I also went out and bought the CS alternator for the 1988 Old Firenza 105 amp, because I was thinking I have some time this weekend to do this..

Thanks to all that help...

·
Premium Member
22,122 Posts