Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting ready to put my motor back together and was curious to see
what you guys where using for your engine lube. I know it seems sorta stupid because yrs ago they didn't have 30 different types of engine lubs, from specific lubes for rings,cylinder walls, to everything else.
I'm looking for a multi purpose lube that will cover it all..:D..No jokes please...My problem is, i'm going to put the bottom end together and it may take a few months before the car is started so i need something that is going to stay in place and not rust my parts out.

Thanks in advance,
Dave

·
Registered
835 Posts
I've been using Lucas semi synthetic assembly lube for a few yrs now on my bikes and car engines...no issues.. Sticks real well..and dilutes into the oil after start up...

Can't say it's the best..but I have never had an issue with it..

·
Registered
1,377 Posts
There is only one, LUBRIPLATE.
Use regular motor oil on the rings and cylinders.

·
Premium Member
8,375 Posts
I use the black stuff. You know, it comes in a grease gun cartridge. It's chassis lube. Molydilidiumsulfide. (sp) It's on every car store shelf. Attributes; water proof, ultra high pressure lube, highest heat resistance (for brake parts) highest shear-protection and it's cheap.
When it first was sold back in the '60's, Isky would double your camshaft warranty if you used it.
I've even used it on a lifter that I accidentally mixed up. Worked fine. The only problem is your new motor oil turns pretty black after it's started.

·
Banned
3,193 Posts

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
32,604 Posts
GM EOS in a ketchup/mustard squeeze bottle for all, liberal amounts.
One bottle for the whole assembly.
And it's molydisulfide grease.
As Fred suggests, oil needs changing right after break-in.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
The one issue i'm going to have is that the motor might sit for a month or two