Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, everyone.
I had another TH400 installed. Now the workshop says that the shifter does not fit the TH400 and it is for a TH700. That's why the old TH400 broke down because I probably never drove in third gear. Wouldn't I have heard that?
They have now set it so that all gears switch, but the distance is not enough for the parking position to engage and I always have to pull the handbrake. I only found one shift lever from B&M for the Camaro on the internet and it says suitable for TH350,400,700R. Do I really have the wrong one or another problem? It is a 350 engine.

·
Premium Member
2,555 Posts
They work fine on a TH400. I've been using one for the last 30+ years on my car with a TH400. The shifter comes setup for a 3 speed. To make it work with a 4 speed there is a clip and pin that needs to be removed. Sounds like yours was used on a 4 speed and the pin and clip just needs to be reinstalled.

From the instructions:

NOTE: This shifter has been configured from the factory for 3-speed automatic transmissions. For 4-speed automatic transmission use, remove the E-clips at the back of the shifter and the attached cross-pin (See Figure #5). The e-clip and cross pin will NOT be used in 4-speed operation.

·
Registered
116 Posts
I ran into this on 2 different B&M shifters. Possibly the same thing is happening with yours. The shifter cable has a mounting tab on it that mounts to the shifter. If you mount the cable on the wrong side it changes the amount of travel. See the figure 1 on page 2 of the directions below.
B&M 80690 B&M Automatic Ratchet Shifter - MegaShifter

Reactions: Steffen76

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·