Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,653 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have searchd on this subject i was not able to find anything. my whole brake system has to be bleed. i have my master on the car. how do you bleed the master with the bleeding nipples on the side. i have read how its done by bench bleeding but i didnt find anything when the master has the nipples on the side. can someone enlighten me?

·
15,375 Posts
I've bench-bled them while the master was installed in the car before. Only because the person who put the brakes together didn't listen to me and bleed it before-hand.

Chuck the master up in a vice. Have the bleeders facing you or at a convenient angle. Fill the reserviors and bleed them one at a time just like you would a caliper installed on the car. Have a bleeder lose, but not open. Depress the plunger in as you crack the bleeder and force fluid\air out. Tighten the bleeder and let go of the plunger. Keep doing that for each reservior until no air comes out. Have enough fluid to keep adding some as you go.

It worked for me when we couldn't get any fluid to his rear brakes.

·
15,375 Posts
I just thought of something..... out of ignorance, I didn't take into account that the brake line holes will be open. Like I said, I've only ever bled them installed.... with all of the lines hooked up. I suppose the ports in the master or the distribution block, if installed, will need to be blocked first.

·
Premium Member
2,653 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
since these have the bleeding nipples, will they be able to be bled on the car? if i fill up the lines and master with fluid, i am assuming that it can be done just as easy on the car. from what i understand, one of the reasons for bench bleeding is so air doesnt get trapped near the front of the master but since it has the bleeder, would the air escape through the nipple?

·
Premium Member
1,159 Posts
Hi Angel