Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, brand new here, but I've been reading forum notes for a year now (and since they go back to 1998, there are a LOT,.... you guys have been busy for a LOOONG time!! ;-) :hurray:

2 Questions: 1) I am considering purchase of a BBC block, and noticed that the pad stamp (with suffix code) uses a different "1" for the two ones that are in "T0118MW". The first "one" in the sequence looks exactly like a "Times New Roman" numeral 1. But the second one in the sequence is missing the top leftside extension off the top of the vertical line. It is clear that a different punch tool was used. The rest of the block looks very virgin, and although I am not a expert on Broach marks, the seller says they are there. Did GM sometimes use a different punch tool when two "ones" were next to one another?

2) Since I do not know what to look for in Broach Marks, I was hoping you could explain what they are, and how to identify them.

Thanks guys!!
=Steve

·
Registered
7,608 Posts
When the deck was milled, the factory used a broach, which is kind of like reel type lawn mower. The shaft of the tool was parallel with the deck, and ran the length of the block. The markings left are long straight lines running down the length of the deck.

When most machine shops deck a block they use a fly cut tool. Sort of like a rotary lawn mower. The shaft of the tool is perpendicular to the deck, so the markings are more like swirl marks.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you both. This is VERY helpful. Never knew how the milling was done at the factory, nor that the machinists were typical to switch punch tools in the middle of marking pads (lots of lunch breaks i guess).

·
Registered
5,771 Posts
JohnZ has pics of the factory broaching machinery.

An "I" was commonly used in place of "1" due to broken or worn-out dies. Was a replacement for when there wasnt enough.

·
Premium Member