Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm putting a new cam and heads in my 350 with the assistance of one of my mechanic friends. I am a newbie when it comes to engine building and would like to get your input in addition to his on what would be some good options for me to consider for a cam and heads. I had spoke to the person who had the engine prior to me and he said that the existing heads are not ported/polished and are just basic and the cam is a bit "bigger" but there is definite room for improvement. There is currently a Holly double pumper on a standard aluminum intake. I have a Ford 9" with a 4-speed Saginaw. I'd like to spend around $1500- $2500 and with this I'd like to get as much bang for my buck as I can. I'd greatly appreciate your suggestions and feedback!

Thank you much!

Here are some pics of the engine when it was in the car:

·
Registered
486 Posts
I have a new motor in my 1969 Camaro, just put it in less than a year ago, 400 miles. It is a 350 with flattop pistons. I had the same questions, what type of heads and cam. I do not race the car, street/show only. I went with a set of new GM Vortec .062 casting number, not a lot of lift 480 max, but put in a Lunati Brackett Master II cam and lifter set part number 00017LK. Has a great sound and runs great, with that cam and heads great low to mid hp. But I also built my motor for 0-80 MPH. I would not change it, and it would be under your price limit. Thanks, Jerod

·
Registered
1,202 Posts
i would suggest the iron eagle 69cc heads and previous cam mentioned--also i dont see a pvc system on current set up--need a breather on one side and a pvc on opposite side

·
Registered
166 Posts