Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those of you who have used the Comp Cams Polymer Distributor Gear on true BILLET cams:

1. Please share what your experience has been with it…..good, bad or otherwise.

2. If you have had a problem with it, what specifically, happened to it?

3. Based on your experience with it, if you had it to do over again, would you still use it, or would you go with the bronze gear?

·
Gold Lifetime Member
10,548 Posts
I have no experience personally, just what I've been told by a couple engine shops I deal with. Seems there are some issues with them, usually with a hv pump and the load they're under. Seems to be pretty much evenly split whether they last or not.

I personally use the GM melonized gear and always spec a cast iron gear, even on a billet roller cam.

Jody

·
Registered
10,515 Posts
I'll let you know later in the spring. I have one on a true BILLET cam with about 3,00 miles on it. The motor runs fine, but I haven't pulled the dist to look at the gear.

I would have done what Jody said, but I'm running a reduced base circle and per Comp that core is not available with the pressed on iron gear.

FWIW, the GMPP ZZ4 and ZZ430 (and most likely others) use a genuine BILLET cam and the melonized dist gear.

·
Registered
731 Posts
I have run the Comp Polymer gear for 2 years now. True billet cam. Comp cams custom roller.
No issues after 2 years. Looks new, and I check it from time to time.
Combination of street and strip.
Std volume oil pump BTW running 15-50 Mobil 1.
Rat motor.

Ron

·
Registered
662 Posts
I have one in my motor, and prob been about 800 miles...still looks new!....and thats with a solid roller cam. They are expensive, but I was going thru the bronze gears quite often, and at about $35-$40 a pop for bronze, (at least for good gears,) this is a bargain in my book! It has my vote!

·
Premium Member
11,170 Posts