Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
Tim - The Northwest 1969 Camaro
1,304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am hoping someone can shed some light on this issue. It seems most vendors will sell a complete console either assembled or unassembled. The assembled one is typically about $100 more. Why would anyone spend an additional hundred dollars to avoid snapping/screwing some plastic pieces together? I must be missing something but since I have no direct experience I thought I would ask the experts. This is for a console without gauges.

For what it's worth, I am leaning towards unassembled because I want to hydrodip the shift plate and the forward filler plate (and if I can save $100 in the process it's all good). I am concerned if I purchase the assembled one I might break it taking it apart >:)

·
Premium Member
4,304 Posts
The shift plate, and the forward plate come off easy. It's kinda a pain to put one together. I thought like you and bought an unassembled one. All the stoppers, and Ash tray springs will make you cuss. Ultimately your choice though.

·
Premium Member
1,304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The shift plate, and the forward plate come off easy. It's kinda a pain to put one together. I thought like you and bought an unassembled one. All the stoppers, and Ash tray springs will make you cuss. Ultimately your choice though.
Keith - this is exactly the kind of information I am looking for so thank you. Sometimes its worth a few bucks not to frustrate the hell out of ones self. If those plates come off a completed one fairly easily I will just go assembled and do a little disassembly once I get it.

·
Premium Member
1,304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Tim, If you're not concerned about the factory style you may want to check out
the consoles with a built in armrest and cup holders. I personally miss an armrest
on my 67.