Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Once again I come to you all who know way more than me. I have been chasing an oil leaks on my new BB 468 for a couple months. My leaks are not major but once I repair one it springs a small leak somewhere else. Do I have too much crank case pressure? I have a pcv valve (AC Delco for a 70 big block) on the pass side to the carb base and a K&N breather on the drivers side front. My leaks were coming from the valve cover gasket..fixed …a trickle from the rear of the manifold and from the corners of the oil pan..fixed…now I see drips from the rear seal area and the front of the pan. I am chasing my tail here and need some help. The motor runs strong and has about 400 miles on it. Do I need to wait for rings to seat? My oil looks kinds dirty to me already….I did a search for pcv and have read many different opinions on pvc location…etc My motor is nothing fancy with a mild cam. My vacuum is about 11 at idle if that helps at all. Is there any way to measure the crank case pressure? How can I relieve it if is an issue? Any help would be greatly appreciated..

·
Super Moderator
32,598 Posts
You may need a PCV for a Z/28 or a 375 HP/396 CID since the manifold vacuum is low - PCV will have a weaker spring allowing it to open under less vacuum. However, the valve woul dbe open upon deceleration, max vacuum.

I haven't seen one in years, but there is/was a flowmeter device, 2 inch diameter gauge, one would place over the oil fill hole and it indicated either vacuum or pressure of the crankcase.

If crankcase is pressurizing, one would see oil at the filter on the valve cover much like seeing oil in the air cleaner base of an OE set-up.

An old shadetree trick is to remove oil fill cap and place hand over tube with engine running and after 30 seconds, one should feel a vacuum, if it was sucking/working.

·
Premium Member
1,267 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys...