Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My RS/SS 396 gets up to ninety and cuts out like it is not getting fuel. I have installed a GM Elec Ign, new wires, new fuel filter, plugs, etc. Basically tuned it up. On the analyzer, it runs perfect. My guess at this point is fuel pump. It has a mechanical now. I am considering an elec. the prev. owner had one...i don't know what. I have been told a 100 gph is the way to go. What do you think? Any reccomendations. The engine has 75000 original miles and runs fine until you punch it or run it up into the high 80's low 90's. Oh yeah, it has a rebuilt 4 barrel that has had the bowls punched out.
One more thing, we're having a hard time tuning the ping out of it as well...i live up a big long hill, and it pings at about 2000 rpm when it is warm....any ideas?

·
Registered
3 Posts
I am by no means a car expert, but I believe when a car pings, it usually means you should be using a higher octane fuel. What are you using now? <BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by malemute:
My RS/SS 396 gets up to ninety and cuts out like it is not getting fuel. I have installed a GM Elec Ign, new wires, new fuel filter, plugs, etc. Basically tuned it up. On the analyzer, it runs perfect. My guess at this point is fuel pump. It has a mechanical now. I am considering an elec. the prev. owner had one...i don't know what. I have been told a 100 gph is the way to go. What do you think? Any reccomendations. The engine has 75000 original miles and runs fine until you punch it or run it up into the high 80's low 90's. Oh yeah, it has a rebuilt 4 barrel that has had the bowls punched out.
One more thing, we're having a hard time tuning the ping out of it as well...i live up a big long hill, and it pings at about 2000 rpm when it is warm....any ideas?
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

·
Registered
2 Posts
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by malemute:
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

·
Registered
2 Posts