Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I was installing 1.5 roller rockers on my 355. I've never done this before, and I've never adjusted valves ever before either. Anyways I was reading an article in Chevy High Performance about installing them. First they said to snug the rockers down so I snugged the rockers down. However I misunderstood their term of "snugging down". Instead of just snugging the rocker against the pushrod, I snugged the rocker all the way down the stud until the bottom of the rocker was touching the head. I didn't know this until I took it apart and thought about what I had done. I then loosened the rockers up one by one and adjusted them one by one. However when I was using my remote starter to turn the motor over to adjust each one the other ones were still tigntend all the way down the stud. I didn't think about what I was doing and obviously this was really dumb. Anyways I adjusted them all, and started the motor and it started tapping so I shut it off and tried to think about what I could have done, then it dawned on me about the whole snuggin down thing. I then took all the rockers off and pulled the pushrods and 2 are bent pretty bad and 3 other ones have a slight wobble. Does anyone know if I could have wiped off a cam lobe, or possibly cracked the cam, or if I could have done any other damage. The studs aren't pulled out at all I already checked that, but I don't want to start it knowing that I could break something. I know this was a really dumb move but any advice is appreciated.
thanks in advance.

·
Gold Lifetime Member
8,747 Posts
Although you may damage the cam with what happened, I'd bet it's fine. However you need to remove all the pushrods and check for straightness; rolling them on a flat piece of glass works well. Replace all of them or at least the bent ones and adjust the valves as follows from the Crane Cams website:
http://www.cranecams.com/hydlfaq.htm

Jody