Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a 67 327 275 Hp. Used to run great after a rebuild on the quad jet. A few weeks ago it started to die or drop out for a second before picking up when I would push the gas. I checked timing which was about 8B and vac was around 15 at idle.

After that everything just went to the crapper. Can't even drive it now. Just dies and sometimes backfires. I can't get more than 10 on the vac gauge now at idle and really turning the screws does not make that much difference until I turn them far enough that the car dies. The timing is the same as before but I am hearing a decently loud valve tap from the motor. I can rev the motor while in P or N but once it's under load it's over. Exhaust even sound different now. Wondering if there is a way to tell if I lost a valve by just taking the valve cover off. I'm an OK backyard mechanic but not sure how to check the valves and how much play they should have.

Any help would be great.

Thanks

·
Registered
335 Posts
I'd check for a vacuum leak before digging into it too far. Likely culprits are disconnected vacuum hose, gasket inner the carb, distributor vacuum advance canister, intake manifold gaskets, vacuum modulator on transmission (if it has one). Hope it's something simple.

·
Admin/Super Moderator
12,511 Posts
Could also be the accelerator pump in the Quadrajet. Look for a rebuild kit that is ethanol resistant.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What has me worried is I was getting 15 inhg before at idle and now its dropped to 10 or less. Makes me think it might have something to do with the internals of the engine.

·
Registered
335 Posts
Could be. Might be a loose rocker arm that's fallen off the valve, or a broken valve spring.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Maybe it's time to take the cover off and take a look. The Rebuild on the carb is only two month old so I'm thinking that's not it.

·
Premium Member