Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,810 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 69 camaro with a 10 bolt rear end. I believe it to be an 8.2. I have had the car only 1 1/2 yrs. I would like to at this point just to make sure the rear end has oil in it. The rear pumpkin looks as though the cover gasket has leaked and is pretty grundgy. On the passenger side near the top is a plastic feeder tube or breather tube with a little rubber cap on it. What is it and what's it for? Otherwise all I see is a plug on the passenger side upper half. I would like to drain out the old oil and put in new (what kind or brand)? And replace the cover gasket. Would I be better off buying a Moser 10 bolt cover, for better support and ease of changing differential oil? Eventually I would like to rebuild this rear and put in an Eaton posi. I am a novice so please be kind and be specific on your instructions. I have gotten a lot done from all the help from these forums. You guys rock! :yes: :thumbsup:

·
Premium Member
22,122 Posts
The only way to get the oil out is to take the cover off. If you loosen all the bolts, the lower ones more than the top, and pry on the bottom, the oil will come out, fairly slowly if you're careful.

I would get the outside as clean as possible first.

Then a new gasket, and fill it thru that plug on the pass side. It will hold about 2 1/2 quarts. No need for posi lube in an non-posi rear.

They make "pumps" that will screw onto the lube bottle and pump the oil thru a hose to make it easier to fill. I use one from mercury marine that also works good on my outboard.

·
Super Moderator
33,291 Posts
As said, you'll get the oil drained by pulling the cover.You're best bet is to drive the vehicle for 10-15 miles to heat the oil.

Then, park it nose up in the driveway, pull the cover, and let the oil drain over night and through the work day, if you can.