Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
492 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm needing someone to lead me down the right path. Iam wanting to add disc brakes to the front of my 69. I have never done brakes before and am not sure how tuff it is, or what to expect. I was thinking about getting a conversion kit from Ricks, or right stuff ish. I have 14 inch wheels and dont want to change those. Is it worth paying someone to do it or is it a pretty easy job. How long should I expect to send on it? It would need to be alined after the job, correct?

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
You might check David Pozzi's sticky at the top of the page. Lots of info on many different topics. Especially brakes and suspention.

http://www.camaros.net/forums/showthread.php?t=75836

You might post up the ID on your 14" wheels. They may not fit over even stock disc brakes. Not all 14's are the same.

·
Registered
513 Posts
If you can read and follow directions.... you can do it.. If you run into a snag, you will be able to find the answer by searching this forum. Measure twice, order once!!
Make sure you find out if the new kit will change the the track width of your front wheels.. as that may cause rubbing issues.
If you go four wheel disc, be sure to take out the residual valve if you have one in the rear brake line.
Make sure you coordinate the correct MC bore with the new brakes..

Disc brakes are the IMO the best upgrade you can do to one of these cars.... Go For It..!

·
Registered
561 Posts