Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,568 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I guess I going to show my ingnorance on this subject. I have a 350 from a 70 Nova that is being donated to me. I would like to have EFI. I have been looking into a LS1 converstion if I can find one at a good price.

The question is, can you put an EFI setup on the 350? What would be the pros and cons of building the 350 with EFI or going with a LS1?

Here is the info I got on the engine.
It has 9 1/2 to one compression
3/4 cam .488 lift 292 duration. It's a crane cam
Aluminum timing chain to replace the old plastic one
It's hooked up to a Borg warner t-5 transmission.
Has a brand new clutch system already in it for that tranny/motor combo.

That you all think?

·
Registered
302 Posts
i am no expert but i did this on my 67.first of all you can put fuel injection on that motor it has been done may times.in my opinion (many will disagree)fuel injection is more efficient and looks cool!!now there are several types of fuel injection, from throtle body to tuned port injection.tb is like a carb with 2(or 4)injectors sitting on top of the throttle body.tpi is a set of 8 injectors that shoot straight into the intake port.one thing to keep in mind with efi is the cam, most efi's like a cam with 110-112lsa.the ls1 is way more expensive in the end as opossed to a regualar old 350 with fuel injection.the ls1 is a completly different beast.this was recently disscused here,do a search on it.also i'm pretty sure that the trans u have won't bolt up to an ls1 without mod's.also with a custom efi engine u will either have to burn your own prom(stock ecm)or get aftermarket fuel injection setup,like accel or fast.these are some things to consider.i'm sure others will chime in on anything i missed.by the way i run accel dfi on my car,be prepared to spend some time tuning it especially if u never have done it before.good luck......

·
Registered
8,305 Posts