Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10,475 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I am almost done with the interior panels in my shop and will be doing the electrical next. My question is can I use EMT in this application? I already read the NEC rules for EMT but, they ae not clear. What is "subject to major physical damage"? I don't plan on beating on the conduit with a hammer, there is no heavy equipment driving in the building. I know at work (I'm an industrial electrician/electronic technician), we only use rigid but, the environment is pretty nasty with lots of fork lifts and machinery. I will be welding, grinding, etc.. in the shop, is that the potential for "major physical damage"? I can run rigid but, it will be more time consuming because I don't have the bender and threader at home, that means I will have to run back and forth to work or rent the equipment (if that's possible). This shop is at my home and for personal use.

·
Premium Member
5,325 Posts
Royce, EMT should be fine, IMHO. In our shop at work we have all the normal stuff, grinder, welder, drill press, metal workbench, wood work bench for electrial work, etc., all run in thinwall. The boiler, pump stations, air compressors, elevator machine rooms, generator rooms,...and chiller rooms all have EMT....have at it...pictures! Royce! pictures! :)

·
Registered
8,113 Posts
Royce, the reason the code is vague is pretty much to leave it up to the discretion of the "authority having jurisdiction" or as you and I know them, the inspector.
Basically it would apply to industrial applications, and where it's subject to being smashed for instance by equipment, or corrosion issues. As far as in your garage, basically unless it's on the floor in an area that can be driven on, you are fine. I've installed EMT in industrial places (the paper mill in town for instance, and it's perfectly allowable, usually plant codes will require ridgid conduit before code does.