Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have owned this car (69Z28 with a 302) for 36 years and the engine has had a small vibration in it ever since. I noticed the vibration when I first bought it in 1978 but I did some street racing with it anyway. I have recently finished a complete restoration and now I'm focusing in on the vibration. With the car not moving, I can feel the vibration when I race the engine to maybe 3000 rpm with the clutch engaged or in neutral and the clutch disengaged. I'm a steel fabricator by trade and not a mechanic. Could the problem be the flywheel or the harmonic balancer. Please advise.

·
Premium Member
11,167 Posts
I have pulled the balancer off and run motor without it, just to verify what you are saying, it was not that . You may have something on the clutch/flywheel end. I would start there.
Sure its not a miss? Fan clutch? Water pump? You can pull the belts off to eliminate these momentarily to try and isolate.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Don,
My painter is touching up some of my assembly mistakes so it will be about 3-weeks before I get it back. I'll try removing the fan belt first.

·
Registered
2,777 Posts
I agree,..the problem is likely with the pressure plate and/or flywheel. Take them both (with the the PP bolts) to your machine shop. Have them zero balance both (neutral balance). Also, he'll put a mark on both parts showing where the 12 o'clock mounting was when balanced and where it should be when mounted. Even with the correct 'shouldered' bolts, there's enough slop to cause issues. You'll likely have to turn the crank by hand to make sure the "7th' holes match up on the crank flange and flywheel so that you can obtain the 12 o'clock position.

Good luck!

·
Premium Member
3,553 Posts
You say clutch engaged and not engaged. Was it in gear so the clutch plate was not spinning with the pressure plate?

·
Registered
1,470 Posts