Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I have some questions about exhaust system welding...I now have a pair of the Summit 1&5/8" ceramic coated headers. I haven't installed them yet, so my question is about welding the standard 3" header reducers to the 2&1/2" exhaust pipes. I haven't welded in about 20 years, so I'm a little rusty to say the least.

Should the pipes be arc,mig or gas welded together? I have access to an arc welder and a Acetelyne/Oxygen torch welder, but not a mig welder. So I could practice up on some scrap exhaust pipe beforehand.

My car is currently in storage and is not street legal due to no insurance, so driving it to an exhaust shop is not an option. Taking the long exhaust pipes to an exhaust shop is a BIG hassle, but do-able. I want to avoid that hassle if possible. Just looking for a little advice....

Thanks,
-Mark P.

·
Registered
10,515 Posts
Not being an expert, I'll offer my advice anyway. I would think unless you are very good, a buzz box arc welder would be a difficult method. I'm sure I'd burn holes through the pipes! Gas welding would be my second choice - again, I think it's and art form that takes a lot of practice. It used to be the method of choice for exhaust work. Most muffler shops, at least those I've been to, use a wire feed MIG welder these days. It's what I used on my system. It doesn't take a huge amount of skill to get a decent weld, but practice on the same thickness material would still be advised. I used a 75/25 mix of CO2/Argon.

If you can line up a MIG welder that's what I'd do. And trust me, if I can weld with one anyone can weld with one! Good luck!

·
Registered
5,277 Posts
Ceramic coated pipe is a boogar to weld. I'm not sure what would be the best method. You'll probably find you have difficulty establishing an arc. Might be a good candidate for tig.

·
Registered
662 Posts