Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will need to put an exhaust on my 68 pretty soon. I live in an area where ther is a LOT! of Police around. I don`t want to get pulled over all of the time. any recommendations I have a 400 sb. I will be putting headers on but I don`t know which kind yet. Will I have to get catalitic converters? I have heard if you have an older car you don`t have to put them on,any truth to this.

·
Premium Member
783 Posts
I'm not an expert in the "what is best for your car " catagory. (only you are)

My previous car (had a 350 in it) was fairly quiet using a factory style 2 in & 2 out transverse muffler with a cross over pipe just behind the collectors.

I really didn't care if it made as much horsepower as the best high performance system, but it worked, wasn't too loud & sounded great.

I've heard the Flowmaster muffler on a similar car & it was not too loud at all.

Just my 2 cents worth (.0035 cents U.S.)

Paul

------------------
250 inline 6, 4 speed & disc brakes.
V8 camaros are like navels.... Everybody has one.

·
Registered
3,101 Posts
it is actually illegal in many states to install cat converters on a car that didn't originally have them. Fire hazard I believe.

·
Registered
257 Posts
dual 2 1/2 (or 3 if you can fit it) with flowmaster 60 series and an x pipe. I think it's the 60's that are more quiet. the x pipe will quiet it down a bit.

·
Registered
636 Posts
Go with the 2 1/2 and flowmaster three chambered mufflers. Great sound without the obnoxious sound. DONT GET the two chambered ones they are way too loud. Also have your exhaust guy weld in a cross over pipe. This evens out the exhaust and smooths things out. VERY nice sound. Just my thoughts though.

·
Registered
170 Posts
no one has mention this consideration yet....consider the noise INSIDE the car...some mufflers resonate inside more than others....makes for very noisy trip inside the car.....

X

·
0 Posts