Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, here's the deal.
I'm at a point with my new engine where I need a new complete fuel system. I plan on using nitrous (up to 200 shot) down the line so i may need to account for that now. My questions come in here:
1. Do I want to use a sumped stock tank, or a fuel cell. (application is street strip 550 hp + nitrous later)
2. Anyone have good setups that sounds similar to my needs please inform me... I'm a newbie and only want to do this once, and RIGHT! Thanks guys.

Artie

P.s. If you're using a fuel cell, I have a 67 camaro, so what's working well for you, and if you have a pn that'd be great too.....

THIS IS ON A BUDGET :) :)

·
Registered
86 Posts
My engine makes about the same HP as yours (calculated, never dyno'd) and I sprayed 100hp to a 131mph pass. I run a 12 gal. fuel cell from harwood. They're all good so brand doesn't matter. Fuel runs into a mallory 140 pump and 1/2" aluminum line to the mallory return-style regulator, and I do use the return portion. That type reg. has 4 ports so I just ran 1 to the fuel solenoid. I know most guys would feel safer with a seperate pump and I do have another pump to plumb in but as long as I stay in the 100-150hp range of the nitrous, I should be OK. I don't know if that will be enough for your 200 shot though. The mallory is a bit pricey at about $250 but I got mine at a deal for only $100. My guess is that a holley 140 (black?) would work too. I like the mallory because it's quiet and reliable. Hope this helps. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,242 Posts

I built my fuel cell, but RCI has similar cells with the same dimensions.

Most cut a hole in the floor for the sump and mount flush to the trunk floor....also works, and if you are neat and use trim on the hole it looks fine.

I wanted to do also encorporate a weight box and battery box...so i built this setup.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Nice fab work, Drag.