Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 20 of 174 Posts

·
Registered
709 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am on my 2nd radiator and 3rd Fan Setup.

I just pulled the Dual spal fans w/Aluminum Shroud off and trimmed a set of 2002 Camaro Fans to fit. In Truth I haven't run this setup yet but I have very low expectations.

My current Radiator is a Northern Radiator and I believe its this basic setup Northern Radiator 205141 Muscle Car Radiators - 25-7/8" x 18 1/2" x 3-1/8" NEW | eBay

My Car is a 496 BBC 10.5 to 1 Comp. Total Timing is 36 degrees. Cam is decent but not insane. Only accessories are Power steering and Alternator. My electric fan switch is 175-180 and I have a 180 degree thermostat in there. Water Pump is a Stuart and this is a Carbureted engine with a Turbo 400.

We are getting some real Hot days right now and the current setup is not cutting it in traffic. I am to the point I ALMOST don't care about the cost. I just want something that works - Period!
I know Cold Case is a sponsor and I see they have a 60 day cool guarantee. I spoke with them once a few years back and them seemed nice.

All this to say - What do you guys think? I really dont want to do this again but if I am forced to, I want to buy one last final Radiator that will cool this car properly!

Thanks in Advance, Cory C

·
Premium Member
2,556 Posts
Your problem is that the radiator is a 2 row with 1" tubes. You need a 2 row radiator made with 1-1/4" or 1-1/2" tubes. One made from 1-1/4" tubes will provide 25% more surface area and 1-1/2" tubes will give you 50% more surface area. The radiator you have now has slightly more surface area than a 3 row copper/brass radiator.

Reactions: Arkangel77

·
Registered
709 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·