Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
980 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just testing the circuits in my new painintheass wiring harness, and when I pull the headlights on, the side and front markers go off. Is this right?

First time the old girl had power running through it in quite some time. I wanted to sleep under the front bumper to the gleem of the 4-ways flashing...

·
Registered
1,308 Posts
Side markers are supposed to be on with both the parking lights and the headlights on 68 and 69. Parking lights stay on with the headlights (on a 69; not sure about 68).

Sounds like something isn't wired right.

joe

·
Registered
8,152 Posts
yep, somethings amiss, my 68's parking lights and side markers stay on w/ the headlights. since its that close to being right, i would imagine its something simple, maybe a single wire swap. good luck with it, electrical can be a pain (and i'm an electrician!)

·
Registered
980 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
That's what I was afraid of :( . I was trying to convince myself last night they were supposed to turn off. :D

I'll start lookin'.. Anyone else ever have this problem?

Thanks!

·
Registered
49 Posts
I put a painless kit in my 67rs and it works the same way yours does. From what I know of 67s, its supposed to work this way. Call painless and talk to one of their tech guys. Always real helpfull when I called.

·
Registered
980 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Here's the response I got from Painless Tech

"GM designed their headlight switches to turn the parking lights off when you
turn the headlights on. Their reasoning behind this was they felt it would
be more safe to have a front turn signal go from bright orange to off
instead of bright orange to dim orange (back to parking lights) when someone
is coming towards you at night with your headlights on. You can splice the
park lights into the tail light circuit if you want to bypass this safety
feature."