Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the camaros.net and am I glad to find this forum. Back in October I got a 1967 camaro convertible for my 50th birthday! As you could imagine I was elated. It has a 396 BB. Now for the issue..... I drove it about a dozen times last year no issues. I then drove it this spring and was approaching a stoplight and it died. When I say died I mean died.... no power whatsoever including any type of lights. I let the car sit for 5-10 minutes then it started. Drove it back home and went to pull in the garage and it died again with no power. Turn the key nothing at all again including lights... I replaced the horn relay then replaced the ignition switch and ignition harness.... ran great for about 3 days and then it happened again.. it is dead as a door nail and I have no clue where to go from here... any advice would be helpful...only thing I can think of is the MSD ignition Box and that’s the only thing I can think of.... thanks guys in advance for any solutions offered....

PD

·
Registered
68 RS L30 AA 749
7,502 Posts
Welcome David, that's a tough one. First thing I'd check is the junction block on the radiator support behind the battery. There'll be a wire coming off the positive battery terminal that goes to the junction block. Do you have a wiring diagram ? I'd follow that wire, checking with a voltmeter.

·
Premium Member
Brett - Leander, Texas 1969 SS396
1,429 Posts
Welcome From Texas! My first thought is to check and clean the battery cables at the battery. Then the positive cable at thew starter. Good things to verify they are clean and tight. One of the small wires came off my starter and there was nothing. You could check into those wires as well.

Brett.....

·
Registered
1,754 Posts
Check that the main wiring harness at the firewall is secure and the bolt that holds the interior part (fuse block) to the engine compartment side is secure

·
Premium Member
3,204 Posts