Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The boys over on the mustang forum are beating up on the chevys pretty bad on the distributor being in the back. I need help pointing out the design flaws in the ford motors. They are also mentioning the solenoid being on the starter and the metal spark plug shields. Just how many things can we find wrong with a ford motor???

1) over-complicated timing cover/water pump setup

2) ?

3) ?

4) ?

I also brought up that except for a few years with mustangs, ford cars look like *** (yes....I'm being childish)!!! LOL

·
Retired
26,692 Posts
Please don't start a forum war, we don't need a bunch of Mustang guys bashing TC and TC members don't need to bash other sites...

I know there can be some good clean rivalry between Mustang and Camaro folks but it's easy to go beyond that... Thanks

·
Registered
1,804 Posts
Im no expert but my machinist loves to slam Ford motor design. He showed me a spark plug with a sleeved design that when removed from the motor tend to drop deposits that have collected along the edge of the sleeve onto the piston. Now his question was, once that happens what do you do next? Pull the heads?

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Dennis.......I wasn't looking at it that way. The guys at VMF are good and helpful. This is all in fun. A lot of them own chevys (or cheby's to them). I'm just not informed enough to engage in banter. They are well aware that I'm chevy first and ford second. I thought it might be a great way to learn about things to look for or think about with my '67 fastback. I do see and hear your concerns though!

·
Registered
3,765 Posts
The blocks are not exactly the stongest. They crack all the way through the valley area down to the mains area.

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
They can't figure out how to make power n.a. with a 4.6 modular motor. Their answer is a supercharger, just to run with an LS1. Chevrolet's repsonse, the LS9.:D

·