Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone. I've purchased my '68 Restomod a year ago when I was in NY from a dealership who bought it from the original customer. The dealer had no idea what was done to it. Honestly, I'm not experienced in 1st gen camaros (more into modern jap cars) but here is what I know about mine:

-350ci V8 (fully restored)
-4 speed hurst
-upgraded brakes
-cams
-700+ carburetor
-I just installed AC with compressor/intercooler

I was too busy while working in the US. I'm back home now and have had more time to spend fixing the car. I found an experienced mechanic who suggested to switch my carb to a Carter 600cfm, he said what I have now is too big on my 350ci, causing too much fumes and fuel burning.

I'm looking to order parts but gets a bit difficult knowing what fits or not. I would appreciate if you could give me suggestions on parts, what websites (summit etc..). below is what I would like to do. Please see photos attached for reference on what would fit/work

-Carter 600cfm carburetor
-LED halo headlights (oracle?)
-Center console
-Suspension (the left side is lower than the right-mechanic said he could just adjust)
-Sway bars (car swings side to side .. not very stable, will swaybars fix?) which sway bars (post link)
-Anything else?

Photos
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0BxkB1nH6HuvlNEhfVzF0czRNdlk?usp=sharing

Thanks in advance!!

·
Premium Member
Brett - Leander, Texas 1969 SS396
1,581 Posts
If your car is swaying from side to side, it's probably related to the fact your ride height is not level. Get the mechanic to tell you what is the cause of that and repair the suspension so the car is level and it might improve the swaying issue. Sway bars are more for cornering and will not improve straight line driving in my opinion.
Nice Camaro!

Brett......

·
Premium Member
4,556 Posts