Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I built a 351 windsor (yes a Ford!) for my next door neighbor and during cam break-in, I lost 2 lobes on the cam. I built this engine like I have been doing for 25 years and have never had this problem. I done a lot of reading and talked with some engine builders since then and I am amazed at the huge increase in hydraulic cam lobe failures in the last couple of years. It seems as though the oil companies are not putting zinc and other anti-wear additives in the oils like they use to. Comp Cams says that is why their cams are failing. Have any of you guys had this problem? Is Lunati and Crane experiancing the same failures? Not everyone can afford the triple cost of putting roller cams in their engines. I wonder if putting a bottle of GM E.O.S. in every time you change oil would help. Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,519 Posts
I had an edelbrock cam that wore a lobe off around 3,000 miles which in turn put metal all in my engine and ruined the bearings and had to rebuild. The cam was hyd with 488/510 lift,It was the "Performer RPM" cam.

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
my boss fails 50 percent of the cams he installs...(he`s a glazier)lmao...thats 1 reason he has me do them...but yes, todays oils have a much higher lubricity factor than old oils...i believe even rotella is going to low zinc...lots of guys say to use rotella, and eos...you could also get a custom grind, or regrind, i was told my my mechine shop that regrinds and costom grinds are of existing and pre hardened, or tempered camshafts...

·
Registered
574 Posts