Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to car restoration but not metal work and fine detail I build AK-47's and AR-15's for a hobby. I'm not sure where to begin after my jig is built, do tear the seats out or remove front fenders first I need some pro advice. The rear end is gone and the front looks to be in ok shape.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,733 Posts
So I am new to car restoration but not metal work and fine detail I build AK-47's and AR-15's for a hobby. I'm not sure where to begin after my jig is built, ..................................
Or just maybe use it for target practice! Just kidding, happy to see that someone is bringing another 1st GEN back to life:beers:. Although I have not personally restored a complete vehicle in this type of condition there are a few guys on here who have and are still doing it now. I'm sure they will pipe in and give you the next steps after you secure it to the jig...good luck.

·
Premium Member
1,305 Posts
Welcome to the build forum Scott! I love the title. :D

Try not to look at the project as a whole or you will get frustrated and burned out. Divide it up into small projects. Finishing each step will give you the confidence and sense of accomplishment to keep going. First, build your jig. Dismantle the front of the car to the firewall, and remove all the interior, glass, and anything else that is left. Take lots and lots and lots of pictures and bag and label any fasteners or odd pieces so that you will remember where everything goes on that glorious day of assembly. Then get the shell on the jig. Once you get this far, you should feel pretty good about the progress. From there, you can survey what you have and figure out the plan of attack. If you get stuck, just ask! There are a bunch of knowledgable and helpful people on here who will chime in.

Good luck and have fun! :thumbsup:

·
Registered
7,151 Posts