Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
They say the first cut is the deepest.. lol
Undoing someone else's butchery sucks. I'm sure this would have been more fun starting with a stock inner wheel well. They had home made mini tubs held in by 100 sheet metal screws and some kind of body filler/seam sealer/panel bond and a few spot welds. I cut out what I could with the sawzall to make it easier to start grinding on the stuff they have the seems attached with.
I've never done this before and I feel like i'm in way over my head.. hopefully I can get this all cleaned up and new mini tubs in without losing my mind.

Resized_20201222_200115 by F G, on Flickr

Resized_20201222_200257 by F G, on Flickr

·
Premium Member
4,762 Posts
Frame rails look very solid. You are lucky....

Don

Reactions: Just 1 More

·
Registered
3,094 Posts
Did one of those my self because my friend got a good deal, sight unseen for $150! Kept the roof. . . . .everything else was replaced. After the sheetmetal and paint he gave up and it came to my shop. He invested 10K, I added another 14K both of us doing the work ourself . . . . .nothing but a headache. I sold the finished Lemans/Black 350, 4 SPD, 12 Bolt, PDB, X44, nice enough to take best Camaro at the Autofair. . . . .sold for 39K. The one before was a pristine one owner, no rust CA car RSSS bought in 07 for 17K, finished in 1/4 the time. . . . .total invest 40k. Been offered 80K and a coupla more in that price range, not for sale. . . . .see my Avatar. Moral of the story, you may pay more upfront for a solid car but save on the backend in time, frustration and money. Hats off to the guys that start from scratch. . . . .just an old guy talkin.

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I know i'm overthinking it and way ahead of myself, but, Not having the original wheel tubs in it, I'm concerned about where to cut the frame .. i hope the template for the underside helps with that.

·