Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
776 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know it's been discussed before about how loose the shifter is but how loose is it . I've never used a muncie shifter before, all I've used is Hurst, but I would like to use the muncie shifter thats on a car I've got now . Is the only detent on the reverse gate or is this shifter missing something ?

·
Premium Member
6,360 Posts
Muncie shifters should be pretty tight. meaning should be able to move it around and 'feel' exactly where you are in the pattern. However, i have seen MANY ppl just weld the shifter on instead of doing the work to swap the entire assembly. Had your boot off to check? There are numerous sources for replacement pins and bushings for your shifter. I prefer www.Summitracing.com for replacement stuff. Altho recently I have learned that a stock Saginaw shifter with some minor brazing is actually a shorter throw than the muncie....jmo.

·
Registered
601 Posts
in neutral position it should have resistence to the left as for reverse and as you push it to the right it should go back to 1/2 position not as much resistence as reverse tho.

·
Premium Member
2,876 Posts
It should have a spring loaded feel to it in neutral because it should have a spring in the gate. One of the problems with the Munice shifter is that this spring will pop out. It is only held in on one side with a little hat shaped retainer. I see the spring missing on a lot of shifters.

Reverse has a seperate spring detent plunger that has 6 balls (like in bearings) with a ring shaped spring and a plastic cup to hold the mess together.
The Muncie shifter can be made to work ok but it can't take much hard shifting.

·
Premium Member
6,360 Posts