Team Camaro Tech banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

· Premium Member
67 SS/RS
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is going to sound like a total newb question...
I have had cars with M21 transmissions but not the M22. I had a friend decades ago with a BB Chevelle that had a M22 but my memory of that car isn't that good...

Question is - with the car sitting still idling in neutral, clutch engaged, does the M22 whine, or is it just when in gear moving?

Reason for asking... looking at a few first gen Camaros (I have videos of the all running), one claims to have a M22 and it has a strange distinct whine just idiling... (very noticable) it could be an water pump bushing or that tranny. I wont know until I go look at it, but thought someone may be able to shed light on the "whine" here on the web.

· Premium Member
67 SS/RS
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Possible, but I dont think the engine build is that hot... I was thinking gear drive sounds about like a 6-71, been a while since I was near one with gear drive. I do remember they make a lot of noise.

· Premium Member
67 SS/RS
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
10-4, thanks guys. I didnt think it should either. I do understand the straighter (is that a word?) gears do make more noise than the angle cut gears in the 20 and 21.

· Registered
1,314 Posts
I have had cars with M21 transmissions but not the M22. I had a friend decades ago with a BB Chevelle that had a M22 but my memory of that car isn't that good...

Question is - with the car sitting still idling in neutral, clutch engaged, does the M22 whine, or is it just when in gear moving?

Reason for asking... looking at a few first gen Camaros (I have videos of the all running), one claims to have a M22 and it has a strange distinct whine just idiling... (very noticable) it could be an water pump bushing or that tranny. I wont know until I go look at it, but thought someone may be able to shed light on the "whine" here on the web.