Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im a 50 year young man with a 68 camaro that ive been messing with for 16 years. ive still never driven it, un less you coun t backing it out of the garage and turning it around. right after installing the powerplant. well while doing this little manuver, the freaking cam bearing walked out or was not installed properly. lost all oil pressure did a big ole burnout because of frustration. motor was cheap, i didnt care if she blew. who can you trust? i took a complete engine in and only got some back. i live 150 miles from machine shop.
come to find out they didnt do the work, just hot tanked it and took what perts they wanted. they gave me the gaskets and a couple pistons that didnt match, o they will be fine said the owner of the shop. NOT,
well i took it apart and did a little research, and built a beast @ 480hp and 465fttq on pump gas with no juice. yet i still havent driven it. i watched the dyno and i have the papers with the numbers.
over the years ive bought a ton of parts, man its expensive and so cool.
ive run into some issues lately and was wondering if i could find some help.
ive lots o time and not so much money. but will work for parts.
peace all

·
Premium Member
2,850 Posts
What are you after Gary, engine parts or an engine?

·
Premium Member
13,705 Posts
First, welcome to Team CAMARO Gary :thumbsup:

While in my younger days I spent many a quiet :)D) night in beautiful downtown 'Bendover' NV - driving over to that 'Salt Flat' road exit to the east every morning ... just as the sun came up - I seldom get up that way anymore :(

Sounds like you have had many of the common victories and setbacks many suffer while trying to get a project to completion - or at least some level you can enjoy driving.