Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2,920 Posts
I feel electrical are easier to install if a clean look is desired. Mechanical I believe are more accurate, but the sending units are bulky and the tubing aren't as easily contoured for a clean look in the engine compartment. If you're racing I would go with mechanical.

·
Registered
2,045 Posts
Depends on what you consider eaiser, are you mechanical or electrical?

Mechanical is by theory more accurate.

As long as you have a good ground you shouldnt really have any problems with the electrical either....

I myself run mechanical, and believe me being an Instrumentation Engineer I have quite the collection in my 67 and use both. In some cases an electrical gauge suits the need......and in others, a mechanical. I use mechanical for more critical measurements. Out of 14+ gauges, 4 of them are electrical; Tach, speedo, volt and fuel level.

But I will have to say.....theres nothing eaiser than installing a sender and running a wire.....

[This message has been edited by chicane67 (edited 01-28-2003).]

·
Registered
395 Posts
From my understanding the electricl guages are just as accurate as the mechanical with todays technology. That wasnt alwasy the case, but I think alot has changed.

The real disadvantage of mechanical guages is the risk of something leaking... i.e having hot oil start to shoot into your interior etc..... Obvioulsy never run a mechanical fuel guage all the way into the interior etc. With a mechanical temp guage, the sender and tubing are all connected and you need to make a bigger hole in the firewall to run it through to the block etc. Just more combersome...

I like the electrical... much easier to install etc. and just as accurate now...

·
Registered
967 Posts
I have mechanical, if I did it over again I would use electric.

------------------
69 convertible,fully restored, well almost.

·
Registered
5,277 Posts