Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Can some one please tell me the difference between Detroit speed inc Deep Tubs and there mini tub kit? Can I keep my same 12 bolt rear end with out modifications to it? What size wheels and tires can I run with these? I am a newbie so please take it easy on me. Im just trying to learn on here. Thanks!

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Mini Tub or Deep Tubs?

Can some one please tell me the difference between Detroit speed inc Deep Tubs and there mini tub kit? Can I keep my same 12 bolt rear end with out modifications to it? What size wheels and tires can I run with these? I am a newbie so please take it easy on me. Just trying to learn somehting here.

·
Gold Lifetime Member
4,529 Posts
Re: Mini Tub or not to Mini Tub???

The wheel tubs are the same. To run larger tires you need to move the shocks and the leaf springs inboard. If you search here or on Pro-Touring.com or Lateral-G.net, I'm sure you'll find threads about mini-tubbing a first gen F-body.

·
14,452 Posts
You can run your stock 12 bolt with wider wheels.

If you have a 69 it will be hard to get the wheels on and off unless you narrow the rear end.

Also when you move the shocks a spring mounts inward the fuel tank may be too wide and will have to be modified or replaced with a narrow fuel tank.

·
Registered
108 Posts
I DSE mini-tubbed my '69 earlier this year and installed the Ridetech triangulated 4-Link with single adjustable coilovers. I have the stock width 12 Bolt rearend with standard location spring mounts and 18x12 wheels w/335 tires. The only reason to narrow the rear is to get that big deep wheel lip look. My wheels have a 4 inch lip, which looks fine to me. I have no difficulty removing rear tires, and the gas tank is stock. Exhaust pipes are routed around the 4-link and gas tank.

Gary

·
14,452 Posts