Team Camaro Tech banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Spotted a funny thing today in the garage. Walked by the car with the hood up. Car is turned off and I have a battery master kill switch which was turned off so no power in the car and the indicator light on the msd box is blinking away like morse code! The box is wired exactly as per the instructions, has been in the car for two plus years and I have never seen this before. Thoughts? Ground issue? I disconnected the positive battery terminal and the light goes out of course as the main red wire comes off that post as per the instructions. Reconnect the positive cable light flashes then goes out. Stare at it for a while and nothing. Walk away, come back 10 min later and sure enough its flashing again! ?????

·
Registered
2,289 Posts
Stop blinking! Sorry couldn't help myself and obviously you either. I have no clue may have to call customer service unless someone else can actually answer.

·
Premium Member
5,315 Posts
I know nothing about MSD but the electrician in me thinks the red wire needs to on the other side of the disconnect. You say that there is no power in the car because of the Master Kill switch yet the MSD is powered. That still doesn't tell us why the MSD is blinking which I would think is a trouble code of some kind.

Jeff

·
Premium Member
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I know nothing about MSD but the electrician in me thinks the red wire needs to on the other side of the disconnect. You say that there is no power in the car because of the Master Kill switch yet the MSD is powered. That still doesn't tell us why the MSD is blinking which I would think is a trouble code of some kind.

Jeff
The master kill switch takes ground away from the battery so wouldn't that not allow power to the box or because it has a direct wire off the positive terminal it will be powered no matter what?

·
Admin/Super Moderator
12,511 Posts